Life as a Fish in the Caribbean Sea

Di-Andre Caprice Davis
2 min readMay 3, 2023

--

To Be, Or Nah #4

From the moment of my birth as a tiny egg nestled in a bed of sand at the bottom of the Caribbean Sea, I knew my destiny was to explore the vibrant coral reefs that surrounded me. As a young fish, my purpose was clear: study the breathtaking coral reefs. Swimming among schools of brilliantly coloured fish and dodging predators filled me with amazement and thrill. I spent my days darting between coral formations and basking under the warm sun. The colourful tropical fish and underwater plants were stunning.

Despite lurking dangers in the deep waters, I felt secure in my home. Even in the face of storms and rough seas, I remained unyielding. With the support of my family and friends, we successfully avoided predators and found food. Every day, I examined new areas of the reef, discovering hidden caves and crevices that housed fascinating creatures. I even made friends with a curious octopus who enjoyed playing hide-and-seek.

As the years passed, I witnessed the reef’s gradual decline due to pollution and climate change, forcing many of my friends to seek food and shelter elsewhere. Nonetheless, I remained optimistic that the reef would be restored to its former glory. I am grateful to be a part of such a wonderful world, and every day I look forward to new adventures and experiences in the endless beauty and wonder of the Caribbean Sea.

--

--